Exhaustion

Standard

I’ve been having lots of bad days recently. It’s silly, when writing about the Central African Republic, or getting updates on the trial of Rania Mamoun, who, after being detained in a Sudanese prison, pronounced herself stronger, to stop and write about this. I’m just hoping taking this break will snap me out of things.

I can’t explain it when it happens, but every like, 10 minutes I get another wave of awful sadness and despair. Does this happen to everyone? Right now, I just feel so tired of trying to work through it. I just want to give up and lay in bed. Sleeping or zoning out to a TV show can make these painful waves feel less intense – but if I did that every time I had days like this, I’d be in bed at least 3 days a week.

When I feel like this, I don’t know what the solution is or what the future has in store for me. When I was in the hospital last year, it seemed like some people there were just permanently sick, and floated from hospital to hospital, treatment center to treatment center. I don’t see myself doing that, but almost every day the idea that I could be a totally upright adult for a sustained period of time seems impossible.

Does everyone go through stuff like this? I wish I could write about it more eloquently.

 

Leave a Reply

